No male heroes?

No male heroes?

in Tower of Nightmares

Posted by: panzer.6034

panzer.6034

males identifying with male characters in a male-focused form of entertainment about male-centric activities? Oh NOES! they MUST be hate-mongers!

Lol. “Male, male, male” is what you’re telling me here. All these things must be preconceived as “male”. You’re proving my point beautifully.

Besides, i never said anything about anyone being a hater-monger or misogynist or whatever. It’s just facepalm-inducing for people to clamor for male affirmative action in a media that is traditionally male dominated to begin with.

I suggest you listen to a little girlwriteswhat & read some Warren Farrell before you start making your own mythology. Farrell has particularly interesting insights in that he is a feminist. Your “privileged” remark holds little water in the light of history.

It’s been a few years since i studied sociology in college (i dealt more with race and authors like Cornel West anyway) but, if i recall, the jist of Farrell’s ideas regarding gender was essentially that it wasn’t so much a matter than men had power over women but that they each had “roles” in society. In the context of myth and western storytelling, men are the ones that have an overwhelming hold on the hero role as analogous to what we would see in an action RPG. Women of power exist in myth, but their role is generally different. The idea that i’m “making [my] own mythology” in order to favor more men as action heroes than women is completely laughable. I doubt Farrell is going to materialize a bunch of mythologies out of thin air that prove that women hold a “hero” or “warrior” role to an equal degree as men. He’d say that women DO have power, but that power has nothing to do with video game depictions of women as heroes…at all. When it comes to giving a spotlight to video game and mythological protagonists, men are clearly in the position of privilege.