Does ANET punish individuals?

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Ithilwen.1529

Ithilwen.1529

This is the second time the same thing has happened.

I’m in my fourth year of play 12K+ ap and running approximately 192% magic find.
In that 3+ years I’ve gotten 4 precursor look-alikes.

For the second time, an inexperienced player (1700 ap, not much magic find ) has gotten a precursor on CM right in front of me. On the same drop I got blues and whites.

This time an ele walked away with Spark, the precursor I’ve wanted for years. Last time the player was on his first dungeon run and walked away with Colossus.

Does ANET punish specific players by reducing drops? Does Magic Find work?

Mesmerising Girl

Posted by: CorrynnStarr.7942

CorrynnStarr.7942

they will tell you they dont… but they do… not even gonna argue with anyone over it so dont bother…

Posted by: Ayrilana.1396

Ayrilana.1396

Anet doesn’t punish players by reducing drops unless they hit DR. It’s been stated by Anet that players rarely hit that.

Magic Find’s usefulness is debatable. I personal see no value in it for very rare drops as 400% MF on something that has a 0.00001% drop rate won’t be noticeable.

The entire system is working as intended. Sure there will be those outliers that have multiple amazing drops back to back or those players that get a rare drop with minimal time invested in the game. All of which is very probable when taking into account the entire player base. One thing you’ll have to realize is that the amount of AP that you have, or how many hours that you have played, have no direct correlation with your chance to get a very rare drop such as a precursor.

Posted by: Randulf.7614

Randulf.7614

The effort and coding to affect any given individuals loot is prob something way to convoluted and time consuming to bother with and for absolutely no gain or reason whatsoever.