Hearts and Minds: Mordremoth fight :(

in Guild Wars 2: Heart of Thorns

Posted by: BaronWombat.7195

BaronWombat.7195

Q:

Serious comments only plz, I don’t want to hear how epic you are or how I am a noob. I love this game and am trying to keep playing.

I think I am in the final phase of my HoT story, where I have to defeat Mordremoth in a boss fight over several stages. After spending 2 hours of pushing forward bit by bit, I am giving up. I want to communicate to the dews my thoughts, and would appreciate any tips to get past what I find to be huge problems (my opinion) with this boss fight.
1. No variable difficulty. This thing seems to be stuck on Dark Souls level difficulty, which seems odd for the main story. Not everyone is a hardcore console player, why lock out the vast majority of players? The wiki states there is an Extreme Mode, which sounds wonderful for those who want that. I enjoy a good heroic level raid myself. There should be a lower level of difficulty too.
2. No saved steps. Any death resets player back to beginning of the LONG fight. WTF? Combined with the lethal results of making an error in much of the boss mechanics, the erasing of all progress is very demotivating.
3. Updrafts are nearly impossible to see when gliding is needed. It took me reading a guide to understand that there were updrafts in this fight. They are unlike any other updrafts in the game, coming from the ground and operating like jump mushrooms. Even after I found out they were there, I still could not find them reliably. And when I did find them, my trained response of Jump + Glide just made me hop right through them. Resulting in death. Why not simply spawn jumping mushrooms with updrafts above them? Reuse mechanics you have trained players to use!!!