HoT: Miss something or I'm not good enough?

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: Leonhart.9763

Leonhart.9763

So, I have always been back and forth in GW2, but since the announcement of Path of Fire, i decided to give the game all I’ve got: progressing in the HoT story, completing masteries and so forth. And since I’m a post 80 newbie, I’m kinda lost.

So what’s the problem?
The thing is, in HoT maps and story instances (while i’m soloing), I get my ass kicked by mobs when more than two shows up and the thing I can’t understand is if my equipment is the problem, my build is the problem (wich partially is since I’ve equipped Berserker having only a couple of ability unlocked), or simply I should get better at playing (Smarter use of dodging, more precise timing with skills etc…).

Here’s some screens showing my equipment and build.

Note: All of the Flame Legion armor pieces have the same attributes boosts.

Attachments:

Posted by: Amaimon.7823

Amaimon.7823

Since HoT CC has become much more valuable, in fact, everyone should carry one stun or knockdown on any char. Be it in utility, or having it on your weapon.
On my warrior I wield greatsword and hammer, and have Wild Blow and Headbutt in my utility. Headbutt, given, I have more for the adrenaline, but the stun helps.

Secondly, the importance of dodging. Dont. Underestimate. A. Well. Timed. Dodge.
Study your enemies, practice makes perfect. Know which attacks are gonna hurt you most. They usually have slow or big animations.

These are two quick tips I can give, but most just stems from practice makes perfect

Also, make sure your equipment and abilities line up. i choose raw power, supported with my ability to dodge and stun enemies. Do you use raw power, quick attacks, conditions, slow manipulative combat, make sure your runes, utulity skills and traits support that playstyle, no playstyle is bad, as long as its not little bits of everything.

Leonhart.9763