I'm new to GW2, any tips ?

in Players Helping Players

Posted by: Trojan.4268

Trojan.4268

Hi, I’m not used to play MMOs, but GW2 impressed me. I’d like to get some tips to don’t suck at the game !
Can anyone help me ? :p
TY

Posted by: NornBearPig.9814

NornBearPig.9814

When the ogre swings his club, you need to dodge it.

Posted by: Astral Projections.7320

Astral Projections.7320

^^
I think you might need to give some specifics as what types of hints.

However, as a start, I suggest you read the red stickied thread on this forum on hints for new players. Also these videos from BogOtter would also be good to look at. You’re not a boomerang but most of the information in the videos will apply.

Tips for all players: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ce_dvXJercI
WvW edition: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUfV3OBLyc8

(edited by Astral Projections.7320)

Posted by: buckeyecro.9614

buckeyecro.9614

My advice is if you get stuck, have questions while in game, or want to join a guild go to Lion’s Arch and ask a question in map chat (use /m).

How to get to Lion’s Arch (LA):
It depends on starting zone, but the general idea is to go to your starting city and go to the purple circle on the map to transport there. The green star on your map will get you back to your starting zone or you can look for the NPC’s (computer controlled characters) near the gates that are the same race as your character.

The official wiki has been extremely helpful to me, too.

Yes, dodging is a crucial part of surviving in combat.
Watching your surroundings is important, too.
The combat is generally more about avoidance and location than about taking the hits.

Edit: feel free to pm me on the forums if you have questions

Sanctum of Rall NA Engineer Commander

Guild Wars 2 needs a Public Beta Environment

(edited by buckeyecro.9614)

Posted by: Justdeifyme.9387

Justdeifyme.9387

My tip is to don’t listen to kittens like this one ^.