This game could have been the best ever...

in PvP

Posted by: azera.2890

azera.2890

Had to repost this with a friendlier tone.

Yes, I really mean it.
I started playing Guild Wars 2 in the first available beta after having anticipated the game for four years. I kind of already knew what to expect, but still I felt like I was let down, partly. I was hooked instantly by the beautiful animations, the ambient sounds, the crips graphics and the stunning environments. I kept leveling some, but then I tried out PvP, the aspect that I had ultimately longed for, since I’m an avid PvPer.

PvP felt great, at least in the beta, because there were no stupid bags of RNG. I got to choose whatever I wanted to buy and wear, and I can honestly say, in retrospect, it felt a lot better. I kept playing, not because I wanted new gear, but because I wanted to become better. I’m more into the actual competition than the visual showcase.

Anyway, the game released and I was so thrilled. I leveled up to 80 first on my Elementalist in just a few days, then I started PvPing again. I played and I played and I played, for about 13 hours a day. I grinded to rank 22, not to get gear, but to become better. I won almost every 1v1 and everything was just great. But I started feeling like something was missing. Why the hell did I play? No really. Why? To get better? Sure. But why would I want to be better if the game lacked a way of showing it?

Sure, I could run around with that golden cape looking like a superhero, but there was really no point to it. One could almost think this game was designed for the shallow people, selling cosmetics and focusing solely on the visuals. I want a bigger goal…
I want to show my skill, I want to own people and (since there was no gear progression) at least get some items that only people on MY skill level could get. I stopped playing.