shall I buy a windows machine just for gw2?

in Account & Technical Support

Posted by: SemmlerTh.2685

SemmlerTh.2685

Heyo,

this has not a lot to do with technical support for the mac client itself, but its kind of related, sorry if this is the wrong section.

Im a Web Professional and completely switched from windows to mac. The Apps I use are Mac only and I never regretted making the transition because I get projects so much faster done than on windows.

When I didnt really have any desire to play gw2, I decided to get rid of my big, dusty windows machine and get a shiny MacBook Air. I can only play Diablo 3, lol & minecraft on it, needless to say that minecraft is hell of a lot work for my machine, because java.

I was also trying out gw2, but coming from 80fps on best graphics, to 18fps on best performance makes the game unplayable.

So now I am thinking about getting a windows pc or laptop, just for gaming, meaning especially gw2. I was also thinking about getting an iMac (3.1GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.9GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 1GB GDDR5, 16 GB DDR3) and maybe playing the game on parallels. Has anyone experience with it?

In case of getting a windows machine, do you think Ill get to a good machine with a budget of 900€? (up to 1.800€ in June) Can you maybe suggest some technical specs?

Huge downsides of getting a PC would be, that there are, again, hundrets of dusty cables laying around the desk, collecting dust and overall annoying me. Having an iMac would mean to plug the thing in and thats it.

So, can you maybe suggest a good lap top instead? Thanks!

Posted by: Naqaj.6219

Naqaj.6219

Do you think you could assemble a PC by yourself? That would allow you to stretch your budget much further.

(edited by Naqaj.6219)

Posted by: Todd.8162

Todd.8162

Posted by: Iluzija.1798

Iluzija.1798

Posted by: SemmlerTh.2685

SemmlerTh.2685