in Account & Technical Support

Posted by: Calavera.1086

Calavera.1086

Hey guys, first off I’ll post my system specs:

Windows 7 Ultimate 32bits SP1
Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4 GHz
3 GB RAM
GTX460 1GB

Currently I’m running the game at 20-30 fps in crowded areas like cities and 40-50 fps in places with less activity like small groups and events.

I’m ok with these numbers , buuuuut I wouldn’t mind if I could get another 10-15 fps if OCing my CPU would get me that.

I have zero experience in OCing but I’m sure there are dozens of online guides so I think I can handle it. Also if I burn my CPU that’s the reason I was looking for to upgrade it anyways

Should I overclock my CPU?

Posted by: Andicus.3081

Andicus.3081

Hi,

The good news is your CPU overclocks well and easily – the bad news is an overclock isn’t going to buy you another 10fps – maybe 5 if your lucky.

My system is very similar to yours, but with quite a heavy overclock
Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
4GB DDR2 RAM @ 850MHz
GTX560 1GB (mild factory overclock)

I’m typically seeing 25-35fps in crowded places (PvE only – WvW is a disaster) and 45-55 in many places out in the world.

However, i’ve also spent a fair bit of time playing with a hardware monitor running, and typically when my FPS is low, my hardware usage is also low (4 cores at 80, 50, 50, 40 % and GPU at 30-50%)

Calavera.1086

Hi Andicus, we really have very similar fps. If it’s gonna give me only 5 fps than I think it’s not worth the risk.

Thx for the reply.

Posted by: stryke.1604

stryke.1604

id be interested to know aswell, i have the same cpu but running GTX260 Sli, i get around 30fps on medium high settings in PvE, but i would really like to WvWvW and that is not an option atm as when things start getting busy it drops to about 10fps and skill lag starts occuring.