Work as a sound designer

Work as a sound designer

in Audio

Posted by: Wedoh.7689

Wedoh.7689

Hi,

My big dream is to work as a sound designer at a great company like Arenanet one day. So i cant help wondering, how is it to work as a sound designer at Arenanet? What do you guys do an ordinary day? What do you look for in aspiring engineers and sound designers?

I truly like your work on Guild wars 1 and 2, the sound design is superb.
You guys have succeeded to not only create great quality sounds but also sounds that add to the experience and enhance the visual in a way that really make me feel im part of the world.

Kind regards
Johan from Sweden

Work as a sound designer

in Audio

Posted by: Cody Crichton.7516

Cody Crichton.7516

Sound Designer

Hi there Johan. Name’s Cody, I’m a sound designer here at ANET. I’m glad you’ve got the big dream to work at a sound designer, and that’s exactly what started me on the path to audio department and working here for Guild Wars 2.

How is it to work here? Well, it’s wonderful to have the creative freedom to do my best to enhance the game through sound design and implementation. Speaking for myself, on an ordinary day I’m either designing and integrating new content for the game, planning for the future, enhancing existing game content or working closely with my team and with our awesome audio QA (Keenan) on how best to achieve our design goals.

Unfortunately, I’m still rather new to the team, and thus I’ve never been in a position to hire or make any decisions in the hiring process, so I’d have to leave it to someone else on the team to chime in on what they’re looking for when they’ve expanded our team.