Elementalist vs Guardian Choice

in Profession Balance

Posted by: Kyotee.7851

Kyotee.7851

Hello, I’m returning to GW2 after a long break. I actually came back about a week ago. I never played GW2 a lot before quitting, so some what inexperienced at the game – though I am a 15 year MMO vet – I learn classes quickly.

With that said, my preferred play style has always been PvP over PVE. In that role I enjoy a support / dps role (hybrid style). I love buffing my comrades, throwing key CC and peels, and clutch heals. This seems to definitely narrow that down to Elementalist or Guardian.

Just wondering which of the two seem to help a group out more in a hybrid role. Both classes intrigue me. I plan to make both. But just trying to get a feel from experienced players in both PVP/WvW and PVE on the pros or cons of both to decided which of the two will be my first level 80 character.

/bows and thanks

in Profession Balance

Posted by: Stogzlol.4795

Stogzlol.4795

unless you plan to play the d/d meta for spvp. I would go guardian. ele isnt rising in the food chain at all and its going to be 6 more months before we see another change.

Also, pve ele is probably still highest pve dps in game but gets cleaved a lot.

Guardian pve provides highest group support.

in Profession Balance

Posted by: GreyWraith.8394

GreyWraith.8394

unless you plan to play the d/d meta for spvp. I would go guardian. ele isnt rising in the food chain at all and its going to be 6 more months before we see another change.

Also, pve ele is probably still highest pve dps in game but gets cleaved a lot.

Guardian pve provides highest group support.

I would refrain from following advice influenced by post-patch blues and speculation about future-meta.

End of the Dream by Evanescence
unofficial theme song of the Nightmare Court

in Profession Balance

Posted by: GreyWraith.8394

GreyWraith.8394