Difficulty vs. level while doing our personal stories

in Personal Story

Posted by: Jeffrey Vaughn

Jeffrey Vaughn

Content Designer

For “Free Rein”, the elementals have a 15-25 second respawn until you destroy the generators powering the portals they’re coming through.

in Personal Story

Posted by: ZetaStriker.9142

ZetaStriker.9142

Then I came up against Rakt.

• As an engineer I rely on turrets to keep my damage in line with other classes. Rakt pretty much one-shots them, leaving me with poor damage output.
  • I have hardly any stun/blind/daze/confuse cooldowns that I could chain to reduce incoming damage, and while I do have plenty of slow and immobilise skills, they don’t stop him from damaging me, as he also has a powerful ranged attack.

He’s only one target, and Engineer has more than enough CC for the task. Rifle has an Immobilize and Knockback, and Pistol/Shield has a Blind, Knockback and Daze. You need to use these to keep him off your turrets, especially when you freely acknowledge that they can’t tank for you. It may work on random weak mobs, but the turrets in this game aren’t meant to hold aggro for the Engineer unless you specifically trait for it. And even then the Thumper is the only one really great at it.

Beyond that, your turrets have a lot of CC that can help as well. A net turret can help hold him away from your others, while rocket turrets provide Knockback and flame turret provide Blind. Thumpers have more health and can knock him away should he move to them, but you really need to keep track of where he’s moving and what he’s attacking to relieve your turrets.

If you want, you can also swap a turret or two for other utilities that may help further. Personal Battering Ram can help push him off turrets and slow him down, Bomb Kit packs a very useful smoke bomb that can Blind him through several attacks, Grenade Kit can cause Chill and slow his attacks down. Even the Flamethrower gives an extra knockback and blind.