Ideas on dealing with botters

in Suggestions

Posted by: carneasada.5983

carneasada.5983

As I’ve wandered around the masterfully created world of Tyria, I’ve encountered that age old problem of those of us who’d rather take the easy way out of collecting materials. The insidious world of Botters, it would seem, is omnipresent.

As a technical product manager myself, I can certainly understand complex issues to overcome in a software project. Botting however, must be one of those problems that you just can’t completely solve with technology. Chalk it up to human ingenuity and the powerful forces of our own greed.

So rather than just complain about how bothers are cheating us all, and the end times are neigh should they not be caught, etc… I thought I’d offer my own half baked ideas on how to tackle the problem. Keep in mind that I have no experience in the software gaming sector, I primarily deal in the IT reseller software market. So anything I say here may be totally off base, wrong, silly, or offensive, or worse – impossible to implement. You’ve been warned.

Watching the wild botter in his/her natural environment in an interesting thing. There is a pattern of behavior, but that pattern can and will vary based on the configurations and skill of the booting tools employed. But the one underlying commonality is always some repeatable pattern. A path he/she takes through the target area, and a series of attacks to down the targeted enemies.

So what if we created a database, that could track each players movement data and key press data for the last 10 minutes. Lets say:

[Timestamp | Zone/Map | XYZ Coordinates]

Another for the key press actions of the player, something like:

[Timestamp | Keypress Value | Key Hold Duration Time]

In this data set would should be able to easily identify a few things:

1. Number of times a map coordinate has been crossed over (the same coordinate)
2. Number of times a key press timestamp matched a coordinate timestamp