How do I level up tailoring

in Crafting

Posted by: gyozo.5018

gyozo.5018

Hello I started playing GW2 recently. So I’m pretty much a complete noob, also I’m not a big mmo player but wanted to give GW2 a try. The problem is I’m unable to find enough jute scraps for tailoring. Am I missing something obvious? Because right now I’m still in the first zone as a level 26 human necromancer and killing centaurs or bandits to get cloth. Is this supposed to be this hard to get the materials? When I have the materials I use the discover tab as other guides said it is the most useful. But I’m still only at level 40 something on tailoring.

in Crafting

Posted by: Wanze.8410

Wanze.8410

In GW2 its not really recommendable to level your crafting along with your first character due to several reasons. First of all, you outlevel your gear pretty fast and it really is cheaper to use gear drops that you get along the way or buy the gear you want from the TP rather than craft it yourself. That is due to the fact that crafting also gives you regular experience, so many veteran players max out some crafting professions to level their alts.
That leads to most gear be available for cheaper than the crafting costs, so basically you would get more gold selling your jute and leather craps on the tp than selling the armor you crafted with it.
It also is quite normal that you will have a hard time gathering everything you need yourself due to the way the loot system is set up. The best and fastest way to handle this is to sell the stuff you dont need on the Trading Post and buy the stuff you need.

I would recommend you to not bother with crafting until you are level 80. Until then, keep depositing all your crafting mats in your collectible tab, thats where everything goes when you click deposit on the small wheel on the top right corner of your inventory.
When you hit lvl 80, you will get alot of rare gear from drops, which you can use while acquiring your first exotic set.