PUG expectations and the new LFG?

in Fractals, Dungeons & Raids

Posted by: Erazimoth.5107

Erazimoth.5107

I am fairly new to this game and have found it one of the best games I have played in a long time. I leveled several professions right away to get a feel for which I liked and have been doing a few dungeons after a friend told me about gw2lfg. As a newish player I avoid posts that read “be experienced or you will be kicked” even if I have done the dungeon a few times. I am still learning, and those people have a right if they make the post that specifically to ask that newish players sit those out.

However, I found a group with no such tag where from the first boss til the point I got kicked, one player in particular accused me of being a “bad guardian” because I wasn’t using a certain build. He was killed on the first boss because I wasn’t cleansing with shouts as he said I should have been. Later, after much taunting to which I try to ignore, he berated me further for not using GS5 at just the right time to pull the mobs on some trash pull to him. And I was subsequently kicked from the with the nice tag line, “good bye sh#$%ty guardian.”

I wonder if such behavior is just to be expected as it would be in LoL, and I should not complain? And how will this seeming elitism work with the new LFG tool that is incoming in game? These are serious questions I have because while I can understand not wanting to fail content because of a constant flow of “bad” players, should we expect PUGs to all be masters of the universe and know everything, be running THE right build?

This may not be the place for this, but I do think it is helpful to remind the community that there are new players still, and these are the experiences that hurt the game in the long run.

Posted by: Warzaw.2708

Warzaw.2708

It’s unfortunate, but you’ll definitely get some groups that will just assume you know what you’re doing, and expect you to be playing the way they want you to.