Prof. advice Q (new player vs. Group PvE)

in Fractals, Dungeons & Raids

Posted by: Lovestar.2705

Lovestar.2705

I am new to the game, and since Group PvE is always my focus in MMOs, I’d like to start with a Profession that fits my group playstyle.

In MMO PvE, I like to:

• Be at range, with an overview of the battlefield
  • Be in a Support-oriented role, healing / buffing / protecting / otherwise focused on keeping everyone else bolstered and strong (I play Monk in GW1, for example)

And I do not like:

• Being in the chaos of Melee range
  • Being in a DPS / damage-focused role

Annnnd from everything I’ve read about GW2 PvE, it is almost entirely about:

• Fighting in Melee
  • Doing max DPS

XD

That’s OK, though — I honestly don’t mind adapting to this game’s style. But I would also like to play something that matches my play personality as much as possible, without being dead-weight to groups.

What would be the best compromise for me to start with?

Posted by: Veydar.5017

Veydar.5017

With a ranged support setup you will always be a deadweight. That being said, a Scepter/Staff Guardian would probably fit your playstyle or a Staff Elementalist camping Water and Earth.

A ranger would be an obvious choice in terms of ranged combat but the group support options are limited.

Inb4 kicks

(edited by Veydar.5017)

Posted by: pdavis.8031

pdavis.8031

Yeah Staff Elementalist might be your best bet. You can get some might stacks with fire fields, but need others to help blast them. But Staff ele is great in a support roll, with AOE heals and what not.

“You know what the chain of command is?
It’s the chain I beat you with until you
recognize my command!”

Posted by: Tom Yzf.5872

Tom Yzf.5872

Be prepared for advice that will not cater to your list of likes and dislikes. With that in mind, we should probably focus on this part of your post

“What would be the best compromise for me to start with?”