When should I go for instances?

in Fractals, Dungeons & Raids

Posted by: Aris.4231

Aris.4231

Hi, I’m a new player, haven’t been in a dungeon or raid yet. Been playing for a while, also have some exp in other MMOs.
My question is: when should I start raiding/going instances?
I’m playing Necro (I’m trying to go Power Reaper), I have some gear, working on ascended and all that, in the testing grounds I only can reach about 5,2k DPS on plain, weak golem (which is probably incredibly low). Should I start going now, or wait until I gear up/get better?

Also, I’ve read that people normally do about 25k even 30k dps? How?
I mean, I am a noob, but my gear won’t get 5 times better (I looked up the ascended gear it’s not THAT big of a difference with exotic, not 5 times better), my build is essentially the first on Meta builds, so I must be doing something terribly wrong here.

Throw at me some advice. Pretty please.

Posted by: Cyninja.2954

Cyninja.2954

First off, don’t worry about those dps numbers you keep reading about. Those are full ascended, fully raid buffed damage numbers on a target golem (and occasionally close to raid boss numbers) and thus not comparable to solo dps. Though with 5k you do have some room for better gear/traits/utilities.

If you absolutely need to compare, go to the training golem in the raid area (https://wiki.guildwars2.com/wiki/Special_Forces_Training_Area) and give it a go.

I’ll assume you are level 80 since you did not mention your level. Normal dungeons are easily doable in rare gear and above. The biggest issue here will be that most people run skips or shortcuts which can be quite confusing to a new player. Best is to make a new group or join a group where people know you have no experience and go at it.