A Designer's viewpoint: Condition Caps

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Desthin Sinkropht.4123

Desthin Sinkropht.4123

Hey there everyone, I’m a tabletop card/board game designer/producer who tackles video game design problems as a hobby (and for the experience!)

I’m going to be doing a few posts here about the most troublesome topics in GW2 in order to stimulate good discussion and hopefully reduce improve clarity. Today’s focus is on Conditions, namely how condition caps can be avoided and the challenges associated with it.

First off, let’s quote the wiki on the major difference between condition damage and normal damage:

Damage caused by conditions ignore armor and other effects that reduce damage, such as protection.

That’s a pretty big difference. Heavy Armor, Toughness, Protection, Frost Armor. None of it matters to conditions. Even scarier, most classes have to go out of their way to get good condition removal (or at least pass up a more synergistic skill in the same slot), and even that is usually limited by cooldowns. Kind of a rough world for PvP eh? Let’s see what happens in PvE though...

...oh dear. It appears that multiple people with condition builds don’t really play nicely together. Unlike a party of direct damage builds, where everyone does the majority of their damage regardless of the actions of other players, a single condition caster is vulnerable to disruption by the rest of the party (since all classes apply incidental conditions even when geared for direct damage). It gets more complicated when multiple condition users are in the party, as having 2 Burning based characters is no more effective than having one.

So, what can we do about it?

That’s a pretty complicated situation, with no clear cut answer.
With our previous observations though, we make a few guidelines for an improved version of condition stacking mechanics.