A Designer's viewpoint: Megaservers

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Desthin Sinkropht.4123

Desthin Sinkropht.4123

Hey there everyone, I’m a tabletop card/board game designer/producer who tackles video game design problems as a hobby (and for the experience!)

I’m going to be doing a few posts here about the most troublesome topics in GW2 in order to stimulate good discussion and hopefully reduce improve clarity. Today’s focus is on the Megaserver system, namely a breakdown of the intended functions and differences between it and traditional district-based server splitting.

First off, let’s quote the wiki on what the megaserver does:

Average population per map copy	                                                                  +225%
Player goes to the same map as his or her party	                                                  +25%
Average population from the same party as the player on joined map	                 +36%
Average population from the same guild as the player on joined map	                 +5%
Average population from the same home world as the player on joined map	 +6%
Average population speaking the same language as the player on joined map	 +41%

Those are some nice numbers. What do they really mean to us though?

• Maps will always be full, near capacity, or quickly filling, as opposed to a random assortment of full and empty maps.
• The majority of the time, the map will contain people who are participating in events of some sort, keeping the game flowing.

What about the infamous population cap? Well...it turns out that nothing changed except the ability of the players to get into a server more efficiently, oddly causing people to not be able to get in.

wait, what?

Let me explain with a comparison:

Overflow System:

1. Attempt to join, find out your home server’s map is capped.
2. Get tossed into an overflow made of a random selection of player who also hit the cap.