Ancient Conditions Conundrum [Suggestion]

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Papaminas.6713

Papaminas.6713

Hello, I’m a new player and still much enchanted by this beautiful game. As time passes and I play and read more about the game the saddening issues regarding conditions began to linger in my mind, specially since I started playing a necromancer and noticed how many traits and gear options hint to strong hybrid paths.

Anyhow, as things are, the cap on bleeds is necessary to reduce bandwith costs. Poison only stacks in duration and I read that burn is a recent addition and works similarly to poison.
In other games (as was probably mentioned a million times by many player) each player damage over time is tracked independantly, but this conflicts with our bandwith problem. Now the thing is… when you look at how poison works, it can make you wonder. The damage is weak, it reduces heal, but what im getting at is how it ‘stacks’. It just increases duration.
Now bear with me, currently the machines need to keep track of bleeds duration and strength, and everything gets mish-mashed as players overwrite each others conditions. Why not….

Just make bleeds stack in duration as well – But! – Make them individual, as well as poison and burning being player individual as well?
To further reduce obscene amounts of data tracking and calculations, bleeding skills would be overhauled so that they all have same condition damage scaling modifier and the only thing that differentiate them in a numbers point of view would be the duration itself?

Then to further consolidate this, the traits that cause bleed on critical hits could add and X amount of seconds to the player’s own condition applied or simply apply a fresh one (remember that for simplicity this would have the same ratio).