Balancing GW2 and Real Life?

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: AdelaisAer.4109

AdelaisAer.4109

I know some of us actually go to college and university. I am trying to finish 3rd year right now, actually, and I am studying for my last exam (on the 20th).

Thing is, a lot of other people seem to have far more free time than some of us, and, especially when you are in a guild, they might start complaining about being inactive. However, it’s not really my fault, as I have other, more important things going on in my life, such as projects, exams, essays, etc.

On top of that, after I finish this year, I will be taking a course this summer, and also be going to NYC and Japan, and also working on my painting and drawing skills.

TL;DR GO HERE
My question is, how do you deal with inactivity, dealing with other guild members/leaders, etc.? How do you try to balance the two and keep in good touch with people without being kicked out of a guild or being criticized for being inactive?

EDIT: Just to clarify, this is more of a discussion thread, NOT a complaint thread.

One who prefers their own Elysium, a collected being of brilliant ambience and nurturing.

(edited by AdelaisAer.4109)

Posted by: LightningBlaze.4913

LightningBlaze.4913

Before you join a guild, you should perfectly state that you are a casual gamer and not as active.

Heidia- The elementalist is the #1 most OP profession in this game since beta!

Posted by: LowestTruth.2635

LowestTruth.2635

Drop a note on the guild forums and/or an in-game letter to the guildleader informing them that you are absent because.

Any normal, worthwhile guild will tell you good luck with the thing and we’ll see you when we’ll see you.

Sometimes you just have to acknowledge you can’t contribute and depart, hoping to come back later. Set expectations and explain.

tl;dr communicate well

Tarnished Coast

AdelaisAer.4109

Before you join a guild, you should perfectly state that you are a casual gamer and not as active.