Blast finishers and ranged builds

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Linda Shors.5629

Linda Shors.5629

Ever since I started playing my ele more, I was struck by how I didn’t always get my might stacks from blast finishers on fire fields. Later I realized that blast finishers have a rather short maximum range, and even if I see the combo flash on my screen, I won’t actually benefit from it if I’m not close enough. This really sucks when playing with a scepter or staff, especially in pvp, where I often want a comfortable distance between me and my targets.

Is there a good reason for the combo system working like this? Wouldn’t it be better if you always got the benefit of your own blast finishers, regardless of how far you are from them?

Posted by: Guanglai Kangyi.4318

Guanglai Kangyi.4318

You’re supposed to get more benefit from being in melee than at range because range is inherently safer in the general course. If blast finishers and other buffs had infinite range, melee would have less reward and more risk. That might help change things up a fair bit but it’s clearly not what Anet intended risk-reward to be.

Posted by: cheshirefox.7026

cheshirefox.7026

silly elementalist.. you can’t have your cake and eat it too
unless you aren’t an elementalist. . .

i can outswim a centaur!
when i’m done on an issue
i start talking in nerglish

Posted by: Harper.4173

Harper.4173

No it should not because being 900/1200 range away from the boss is very much different from being at point blank range.

If you want to stack buffs at a distance – do it at a distance but don’t expect ranged play to be as effective as melee play considering it’s not even close as risky.
Your own words describe this quite well – you want to be a “comfortable” distance away – but for that comfort you have to give something up – stacking boons is what you give up.

If here they fall they shall live on when ever you cry “For Ascalon!”

Posted by: Linda Shors.5629

Linda Shors.5629