Constructive and fun list of those small irks

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: nightzirch.3126

nightzirch.3126

Tiny things with this game
that mildly annoy me
and the rest of Reddit.

Hey guys!

Yesterday I posted a thread on Reddit. My intentions were to humorously shed light on the smaller and non-trivial things of the game that mildly annoys the players. I went to bed with around 20 comments and woke up to 200. There were alot of feedback on bigger things like “little build diversity for engineers” etc, which were far from the point of the thread. I have therefore gone through all comments and added those I felt were appropriate.

I dont mean this list as a “omfg anet l2dev”. Far from it. I primarily just want to have a little laugh about those small irks we all have taught ourselves to go around, but also to inform the great people at Arenanet of these digital equivalents to that itch on your back you just cant seem to satisfy.

As an interaction designer, I know it takes a long time to map all possible faults in a system through usability tests. I hope you guys at Arenanet can use some of the things in this list to improve the game we all love. If not, I hope at least you will enjoy it as well

This first section are my own points, and further down you will see the comments made by some of the users on reddit.

My list
  • If you do a movement skill that does damage at the end and you hit certain items, you get in combat. E.g.: timed bombs between Lupi and Alphard in Arah p2, but some items that dont do damage can do this as well.
  • Waypoint tooltips dont update when you get out of combat. This is super annoying in dungeons when you wait for your teammates to get ooc so you can use the waypoint. Having to move the cursors in and out of the waypoint icon is mildly frustrating.