Could we get a "Rebirth" option?

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: BrunoPuntzJones.5348

BrunoPuntzJones.5348

I started playing a couple years ago, enjoyed the game, then life took me away. Now I’m back playing and enjoying myself again and I have this problem where I have a few characters that are kind of mid-leveled, 20s-50s. I don’t want to delete them since birthday presents seem like a big deal, but I’m not really attached to them either.

I could buy makeover kits, but that doesn’t change race. So I was wondering if a “rebirth” option might not be a good idea? I know ArenaNet needs to sell gems, so it could be a gem-store item if necessary to keep demand for character slots and makeover kits and the like.

It could be a race change, or a race change and a level reset to 1, or both of those plus a name change – I don’t really know. I just know that I’d appreciate being able to fully re-tool my old characters into something I want to play without losing their birth dates and the birthday presents that go along with them. I hate the idea of deleting a two year old character.

Is this a dumb idea? Are race changes impossible, is this too similar to full makeover kits? Or would this be something that might be worth asking Anet to put in?

Posted by: LanfearShadowflame.3189

LanfearShadowflame.3189

We’ve been told that race changes are not possible due to technical limitations. They’ve made other comments about why they wouldn’t want to do them, but that’s the big one. There’s just too much tied to your race for them to be able to do it without causing issues.

Don’t look at me like that. Whatever you’ve heard, it’s probably not true.

Posted by: Mitern.1563

Mitern.1563

Why not just keep your 2 year old character and buy a new character slot? They are not that expensive. :-)

BrunoPuntzJones.5348