Creating New Character Good & Bad

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Rottenheart.1074

Rottenheart.1074

I’m new to this game. New character creation is fantastic. Amazing. So many options and customization laid out very well.

Except… Choosing your character’s name.

After 15 minutes designing your perfect character you are planning to work very closely with 100+ hours… its brutal. Trying choice after choice after choice… its mind numbing… then finally it accepts a name…. but oops…. you entered something that sucks and there is no going back….

For many players character name is really really really important.

Suggestions:
a) Allow a player to save the game while still trying to select a name.

b) Give a player confirmation that they actually want the name that finally got accepted.

c) Allow a player to change their character’s name (free) under level 5.

(Ya, I know the crumby solution is to create a dummy character to find a good name, then delete it and create your “real” character.)

(edited by Rottenheart.1074)

Posted by: DarkWasp.7291

DarkWasp.7291

As much as I haven’t had as much trouble coming up with unique un-taken names.

I still think suggestions A and B are very solid and should be done.

^ Uses Guild Wars 2 character screenshots for desktop wallpapers.

Posted by: LanfearShadowflame.3189

LanfearShadowflame.3189

Wait….you only spend 15 minutes in character design?

I get that ‘getting’ the name you desire can be a pain (I know it’s the hardest part for me), but I typically start out with a rough list of names I’d like, and usually one of them works just fine.

Don’t look at me like that. Whatever you’ve heard, it’s probably not true.

Posted by: Donari.5237

Donari.5237

There actually is “going back” because name change kits are available. You can research the names you want by friending them in game. If it says no player has that name, bam, grab it.