Does the game get any darker?

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Tropheus.7436

Tropheus.7436

I am relatively new to the game. I have played around with a few of the races, watched the opening intros. While gameplay seems fine, the fluff surrounding the game needs work.
Why is everything so happy? Seems to me every story I have watched so far is a hero saving the world. I want to be a bad guy. Why is my thief or necro a hero? They should be shunned by the common folk of the world if not outright attacked by guards if they reveal themselves. I want to play a dark knight character and help the downfall of the human races. I want to be a Charr and eat humans and norn and have the midget big eared guys for dessert. As a tree dude, I want to be part of the nightmare court and help corrupt the forest. Why are we forced to be goody little two shoes characters? Yeah one can RP as a bad guy but all the quests and storylines go the other way. “I am Dorn the Conquorer, eater of worlds, desolator of cities, Ally to the Centaur, but here, let me help you put out that hay fire those evil bandits lit up in your field.” Wheres the option to kill the woman and set the windmill on fire depriving the great city of ground grain? Grrr We need an adult MMO that lets people be what they choose, not what is scripted.

My biggest complaint so far.

Posted by: ShadowGryphon.6257

ShadowGryphon.6257

Did you play Guild Wars? If not you’re are not getting the full story.
Though GW2 does touch on certain aspects of the original, it doesn’t tell that story.
Personally I think you’re doing yourself a disservice by not having played the original game.
And to be honest, being a thief or Necro doesn’t automatically = bad or evil, after all Robin hood was a thief and Merlin was described as a Necromancer (amongst other things)

If someone is talking behind your back… Fart.
North Alabama Guild Wars Players
http://tinyurl.com/y9hj2h4b

Posted by: Pants.8315

Pants.8315