Give us your bored masses-come to Guild Wars

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: eye floater.7140

eye floater.7140

I recently started playing GW1 again, after 1200 hours in GW2. I got tired and bored with the style of GW2, and the third time I started GW again, I loved it. I’m playing with my girlfriend, and we’re having a great time. I thought I’d get bored of the whole thing again, having spent close to 4k hours in it, but so far it’s been feeling really fresh and new (helped by quite a few skill updates and upgrades).

So if you’re tired of GW2, come back to GW1 and try it out again! It’s nice to have skill variety and flexibility again.
You might be surprised.

Posted by: Deleena.3406

Deleena.3406

Isnt this kinda a preaching to the choir message? (like any1 that has linked their accounts prolly has/will/may/never/is logging into GW1 xD)

Posted by: Just a flesh wound.3589

Just a flesh wound.3589

No. I won’t be surprised. I log on to gw1 once a month to collect birthday presents and keep my status as guild leader but the game has lost its charm. I go out in the maps and they feel dead. No other players. No events. No NPCs running up to speak to me. No map chatter. Just the mobs walking their endless routes or endlessly circling around their spawn point.

What’s worse is how the maps funnel you along from place to place. High walls with narrow corridors keep you on the pathway from here to there. And heaven forbid a stick be in the way. You can’t even step over it.

Fighting is standing in one spot and exchanging hits, while your monk keeps you alive. No stafing as stafing breaks your attack animation and dodging isn’t in game. It feels incredibly static and counterintuitive now to stand there without moving, hitting the target while it hits you and your monk heals and buffs.

So thanks, but no thanks. For me that’s a game that has had its day.

Be careful what you ask for
ANet may give it to you.

Posted by: FlashAhAhh.4307

FlashAhAhh.4307