Is GW2 Nordicist?

Is GW2 Nordicist?

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Dawnbreaker.6215

Dawnbreaker.6215

Firstly off I’d like to clarify this is absolutely not a troll thread, in spite of the fact some of the things I am about to say may seem controversial to some people.

Ever since I started playing GW2, there is something about the game that just doesn’t sit well with me, and I have been wondering if it’s just me or if there are other people who have had the same thoughts as I do. This is about the fact that in this game, the nordic theme is priviledged with a race of its own, the Norns, while the rest of “humans” are all crammed into one single race. Not only do they have the priviledge of having their own race, but it’s also a race of heroic giants, twice as big as humans.

As a reminder, “Nordicism” is a real belief that has been an issue in the past century and still continues to exist, it’s absolutely not a mere conspirancy. It is the belief that people of nordic descent are superior to the rest of humanity. It’s the very infamous “Aryan race” ideal supported by 1930’s Germany and still continued to this day through mass murderers like Anders Breivik or certain extreme right wing parties of the West. Nordicism is obviously a very disgusting idea for anyone who isn’t nordic (and for any nordic person with enough honesty).

And I mean, when I see that in this game there is a race that is almost a copy/paste of the aryan ideal, I can’t help but ask myself what is the purpose of this race? Why is one specific culture from our world being highlighted in this game while every other culture is crammed into “humans”? While you can argue that they are not necessarily being presented as better than humans, they are certainly being priviledged. Would a non-human playable race like bears have been a more suitable choice for the nordic theme than to make these idealistic giants?