It is too hard to earn gold - A serious post

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Arkham Creed.7358

Arkham Creed.7358

You didn’t read the list itself, did you?

I try to avoid sensationalism and marketing propaganda that masquerades as “journalism.” Also why I don’t watch Fox News.

Posted by: Pure Heart.1456

Pure Heart.1456

You’re delusional. I’ve been tested as above average intelligence, have a natural “gift” for science and mathematics, and a college education. Know what I do for a living? Wait tables at a Mexican restaurant. The real world doesn’t reward skill; it rewards prestige.

Oh it used to reward skill, back when men like Steve Jobs were starting out, but these days that isn’t true. These days it is all about how many big names you can toss at people. Who you know, and where you’ve been. Yeah I went to college, but I didn’t go to the right college for my education to be taken seriously. Yeah I’m pretty smart, but I don’t have the right people telling potential employers that. Things like skill and knowledge are irrelevant in the real world; just look at how we celebrate the most useless and brainless human beings and shower them with wealth.

Skilled….yeah right. What kind of “skill” does Paris Hilton have? Nothing unless you count “rich daddy.”

I’m sorry Erasculio, but what I am about to point out here may inadvertently upset you, but I intend no malice;

You will never get to meet “the right people”, nor will you go beyond waiting tables at a restaurant while you hold on to that “poor me” attitude.

This is because “the right people” will recognise that attitude immediately and overlook all of your science and mathematics skills and choose someone else perhaps less ‘intelligent’ but with a superior attitude.

Do not be disillusioned by your own supposed intelligence; it’s all useless if you don’t have what’s more important; a strength of will and good character.