MA: Post WW2 Germany in the Charr.

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: TheAlmightyPillock.6258

TheAlmightyPillock.6258

Q:

Dear fellow Guild Wars players.

My name is Jacob and I am currently studying for my MA. As part of the Theory side of my course I am writing about how the Charr are depicted in Guild Wars 2, how their narrative reflects perceptions of the losing forces after WW2. The Char used to be the enemy now they are allies. In the same way countries such as Germany were once enemies and how now Allies.

Despite Germans and other nations friendly status there is still a fair amount of animosity from our shared history. I am curious to see how much of these perceptions can be seen in the design for the Charr. For example the Charr are the race who first made use of Zeppelins, an image normally associated with kitten Germany.

I want to investigate further into these ideas, what other imagery (and maybe comments by NPC’s) are influenced by cultures perception of losing nations who are now allies. Are the Charr given a concept of ‘war guilt’?

Due to time however I am going to find it hard to discover all the possible examples of this. I have a max level Charr but I haven’t played for the last year due to my studies. I can’t remember specific examples and I am hoping that you, the players, could have a think and get back to me with some locations I can go and investigate on my own.

I won’t be quoting of any one as that would be a whole bunch of ethics forms I would be filling out, I instead need to go to the location of whatever you mention, so please include the exact location I need to find it.

Thank you for any help you can give.

Posted by: mcwurth.2081

mcwurth.2081

Guild Wars 2 comparing to ww2….. sad thing to do if you ask me really.

Posted by: Red Queen.7915

Red Queen.7915