Make Gold Un-tradeable, stop hackers/sellers

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: DeadlySynz.3471

DeadlySynz.3471

As the title states, here me out. Sorry if this is too long, a TL/DR version, skip the first 3 paragraphs.

Now I understand this might be a popular idea, and I also understand it’s probably a vehemently hated idea. I also don’t believe this was Anet’s initial vision when Gw2 was created.. the “play how you want to play” focus. Sometimes things, IMO, are essential to both game longevity, economy stabilization, account security, and overall play experience.

An example, D3; I don’t believe Blizzard’s vision was to have a game where gold couldn’t be traded, but alas, that’s the road they took. When they had a system in game where players can financially benefit, what better reason to hack someones account or bot?

Now I admire Anet’s vigilance in keeping up with the banning of botters as I rarely have seen any since I started playing over a year ago, but in light of recent activities, people are still vulnerable despite having taken the maximum amount of precautions. Now given Anet’s 1 account restore rule, it really works in favor of the hackers because you ban someone, they hack someone else to start again. Aka, you ban a gold botter account, they now hack a legit player and start again; legit player left screwed.

The way I see it, what a better way to discourage a hacker/botter than to take away their very reason to commit such activities in the first place; stop gold from being traded. It can still be used on the trading post to purchase, but as far as trading from one person to another, IMO, that should be stopped. I know this has advantages and also disadvantages, but I think there is a workout for the negative aspects.

I think some rules would need to come into play to make it work (which I think would also help/stop item flippers on the trading post).