No more Heirlooms merchants?

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Mergatroid.2086

Mergatroid.2086

Q:

So, I love the dynamic content lately, the whole Scarlet storyline was pretty cool.

I do have a complaint though (of course). I haven’t been one to do any complaining about GW2 as there has always been so much to do that I’ve just been having fun playing the game.
In fact, this is the first ever online game I have actually spent money on in the online store (gems), and through purchasing gem cards at Amazon.ca.
I can say that, including the purchase price, I have spent about $200 on this game.
So, here I was, playing along in the game, having lots of fun. I find that, for collecting 150 heirlooms there is actually a pretty decent reward. So, I’m playing along and collecting. I have been collecting them for about 25+ hours of game play. Since I work full time for a living, I can’t really play more than that over a two week period, but that represents a lot of time. So, I come home from work today to see that the Lions Arch Under Attack content has ended and we get to party. That’s cool, except I didn’t get up to 150 heirlooms. Oh well, that sucks, I’ll just go turn in what I have….not.
Now I find out that there are no merchants left to turn in the objects I have been collecting for 25+ hours.
Excuse me? I just spent two freaking weeks collecting items for over 25 hours, and now they’re worthless? Just because someone decided to remove all the merchants?
I could be wrong, but I have googled it and all I can find is someone else’s comment in another forum saying that merchants would no longer be available after the 18th.
If this is true, I’m a pretty P.O.‘d customer. I mean, really kittened off because there were a lot of other games I could have spent that time in that would have been productive.
There are also a lot of other games vying for my money.