No warning about ascended rings

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Shademehr.1397

Shademehr.1397

Unique. From my perspective, it means there is only one of something. ONE. Clearly, this isn’t the case (as was said by previous posters) because everyone and their brother can buy it. They are clearly NOT unique. It’s not that big a deal to add just a few additional words to the item’s description that say something like “Unique: Only one of these items can be equipped per character”

I have no previous MMO experience so I have no idea how the word “unique” applies to every other game on the face of the planet, nor should I. In fact, my last PC game experience was Diablo 2. In that game (since we’re talking about previous experiences), you could equip two SOJ’s or 2 BK’s or 2 Nagelrings or whatever. Those were unique items where you could have two equipped.

But again, just add a bit more description. It couldn’t possibly hurt anyone to have more info.

Posted by: Wiser with Age.3714

Wiser with Age.3714

This subject always comes up and my response is always the same. ArenaNet has intentionally trained their player base to not look for the Unique tag since it only appears on a small number of lvl 80 items. If ArenaNet actually wanted to teach people about game mechanics like this, then they would have introduced some Unique items in the lower level areas of the game. Most people will mess themselves up when they initially encounter Unique items. It would have been far kinder to have people learn things the hard way when they’re lower level and still rapidly leveling, which would help to negate much of the impact of their mistake and it would still provide a valuable learning experience.

We are Test Group F. (Don’t ask about what happened to the previous Test Groups.)

Posted by: Aeonblade.8709

Aeonblade.8709