Plethora of invisible walls

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Avelione.6075

Avelione.6075

I’ve been playing GW2 for over 2 years and unfortunately, I have observed many, many invisible walls inserted in the various maps just to stop you from crossing a certain point. I explore a lot and sometimes go into places that many players won’t go. However, many invisible walls has been placed in the areas that are easy to reach, especially by gliding. Even on the maps designed for the expansion. And I don’t mean the borders of the map when you glide very high and go over some moutians/treetops.

It breaks me out of the “immersion”, (as much as I can immerse in an MMO), but still. I hate that feeling.

I really like games that have maps designed in a way that feels natural, so you encounter “natural” boundaries that keep you away from places you shouldn’t go (or not yet).
Dragon Age is pretty good at that, for example.

I love GW2 as a whole, but I’ve always considered invisible walls to be the last resort in map-making and a cheap and/or lazy way of design! Honestly, every time I run into invisible wall I feels it’s soooo LAME. The only explanation I try to think of is that the team has little time and lot of pressure so they decided to make maps fast and just place these walls as a cheap and easy way to finish the design quickly. But it still feels very lame and unprofessional to me ;p

Esp that I saw an interview with ANet where I heard sth like “We probably have the most talented people here”. Ugh… not the map makers, I guess…

Equality for the bulge! ^_^

Posted by: OriOri.8724

OriOri.8724

It would help if you could give some examples of which invisible walls you encountered that you think should be removed.

Avelione.6075

Thanks for suggestion. I may prepare a list and come back with a new thread. Though I’m not sure if there’s a point in doing that since I don’t think any of the walls would be removed.

Posted by: Justine.6351

Justine.6351