Professions lacking any kind of depth?

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Katai.6240

Katai.6240

there is enough “deepness” for most player.

choosing your 2 weapon sets
choosing the sigils
choosing the armor stats
choosing the runes
choosing the trinket stats
choosing traits
choosing powers on hotbar

i mean.
i use to be greatsword+staff
but then for fun i started playing with mace/focus.
i discovered a whole new way of playing the guardian, more symbols, more stable, more tanky!

my only problem is that its kind of expensive to get another set of armor to get another set of runes to fit with your new build.
way too expensive..
runes shouldnt be “destroyed” when you replace them.

dunno, i find anet isnt promoting endgame deepness by not allowing people to play around with different builds.

but deepness is definitely there

What you described is Horizontal Progression. Having armor sets for different builds is the epitome of horizontal progression, and most people will say that its preferred over the usual vertical progression (in which you replace your armor, rather than have an alternate set). There’s nothing that prevents this other than earning your second set of gear. I already have 3 sets of exotics for my Necromancer depending on what I feel like doing that day. I got one using Karma, one using dungeon tokens, and one using flat out gold. Trait resets cost like 2 or 3 silver, so that’s not a big deal either.

Posted by: NetherDiver.6079

NetherDiver.6079

I don’t sPvP much, but I get the impression that the game is only “deep” in sPvP. The reason I say this is that a good number of the traits and utility skills (I play guardian and necro) are very situational in PvE.

That being said I still love PvE and changing traits on the fly in dungeons, but I think I just got used to having three distinct subclasses per class like in other MMOs. I’m waiting for the day that the devs give us more weapon skills and allow us to move them around on the hot bar.