Projectiles. How do they really work?

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Desmoulins.3517

Desmoulins.3517

Q:

Ever since i started playing an elementalist with staff, throwing my fire/lightning/stone/waterbolt projectiles everywhere i noticed often enough that my projectiles simply miss because my target evaded by turning away from my thrown projectile’s intercourse with the target. We probably all know that pretty much every direct-hit projectile (pistol/bow/rifle as example) have projectile tracking, means even if they miss visually, they still hit the target (and they even turn around in the middle of the air and connect visually when reaching the previous target’s position), so my question here is do fire, stone and waterbolts as example behave differently, since they are not fired directly at your target and more in a small arc (which makes me think that these must behave differently)

A friend is pretty sure that all these mentioned projectiles behave exactly the same because he tested it in a nearly exactly the same situation over and over, with frame by frame comparison etc.

I’m however sure that you cannot make any tests like that that could be 100% trustworthy since theres ALWAYS something changing the conditions of these tests, may it be lag (or your ping itself), different movements or just luck. I say these projectiles MUST behave differently, they behave different visually (flying in an arc) which is a clue to this guess if you ask me, i’m sure the devs wouldn’t have gave them this arc if they just behaved the same as the lightning bolt and all other direct-hit projectiles do.

I would really like to see an official response and explanation how projectiles work or atleast a clarification if these projectiles behave differently, since the devs must know because they developed them, this would be the best way to get reliable information.

Discussion, opinions, maybe personal tests and/or official responses i might have missed are welcome.