Race change! please for the love of god

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: mXz.4512

mXz.4512

I’d much rather change a current class as opposed to race. A race change would be a drastic change to the personal story, whereas a class change would simply (loosely) restrict a character from using its current available armor(s)/weps. And change some dialogue options.

More so when cosmetics is in mind.

Yes I’m a vet, yes I’m salty. Problem?

Posted by: Illconceived Was Na.9781

Illconceived Was Na.9781

A lot of people point to the personal story as a reason for not getting this,

Not quite.

Copying data is easy. Pasting data is easy. Editing is easy. (Well, with complications.)

What’s challenging is determining the consequences of doing any of that. Personal story is just an obvious thing that has obvious side effects; it’s not the only potential issue.

All the programming for the last 4.5 years (and longer, probably) has been made under the assumption that race & profession are unchangeable. Breaking that assumption requires a lot of checking & cross-checking, without knowing what exactly might be affected.

I realize some people may find it easy to just create a new character and start over that way, but there are so many soulbound parts of the game and I’ve invested so much time into each one that it’s just not worth the effort.

That’s an entirely reasonable idea.

So you might be in a good position to see that from ANet’s point of view, they, too, have invested “so much time” into race being intertwined with the entire idea of “character”. You might also see how, to them, it’s “not worth the effort” given that there are so many other suggestions out there that require similar effort.

John Smith: “you should kill monsters, because killing monsters is awesome.”

Posted by: Coffietire.2783

Coffietire.2783

>Make a new norn
>Strip you’re old char and re-purpose them as a mule

You now are playing as a norn and get to keep your birthday stuff