Should Anet put GW2 on Steam?

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Ananeos.4587

Ananeos.4587

GW1 and the expansions are on steam, why not GW2? It would pull in much more people that way.

Hailsec – Asuran Mesmer | EVOS
Zraiyya – Asuran Elementalist | EVOS
Akkodi – Asuran Engineer | EVOS

Posted by: BrotherBelial.3094

BrotherBelial.3094

Because, steam wasn’t a cut of anything you sell, including in game currency, I.e. Gem sales. This is why EA pulled there new games from steam. Anything that was already on steam was exempt. It’s the reason EA pulled dragon age 2 from steam and made origin. Also steam want a big chunk of the sale of the game.

This topic has been covered in the past.

i5 4690K @ 3.5Mhz|8GB HyperX Savage 1600mHz|MSI H81M-E34|MSI GTX 960 Gaming 2GB|
|Seasonic S12G 650W|Win10 Pro X64| Corsair Spec 03 Case|

Posted by: leviathan.2148

leviathan.2148

Steam takes about 30% of each purchase. They would be stupid to put GW2 there.

I am an engineer – a pianist of destruction! Now please go back to standing in my AOE.

http://wpwhendead.tumblr.com - a GW2 webcomic about a Charr and a Skritt

Posted by: Ananeos.4587

Ananeos.4587

If that’s the case then why is GW1 even on there in the first place?

Hailsec – Asuran Mesmer | EVOS
Zraiyya – Asuran Elementalist | EVOS
Akkodi – Asuran Engineer | EVOS

Posted by: leviathan.2148

leviathan.2148

GW1 is an old game. Besides back then it needed bigger publicity because of not being an established trademark. Also NCSoft often puts their less played MMOs on Steam in order to get more audience

I am an engineer – a pianist of destruction! Now please go back to standing in my AOE.

http://wpwhendead.tumblr.com - a GW2 webcomic about a Charr and a Skritt

Posted by: DoctorDing.5890

DoctorDing.5890

Plus, Steam is evil.

Posted by: Cyninja.2954

Cyninja.2954

GW1 was put on steam way after its lifecycle had ended. It was in pure maintanance mode long before that.