Should I have more than 1 main character?

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: MightyMo.2574

MightyMo.2574

Hello guys,

I’m pretty new to the game, just started around 1-2 weeks ago.
I do have a Ele nearly level 80 and a Necro on 80 with the boost that came along with the game I bought (yeah, maybe not the best choice to instantly boost up a character, but I just had to do it).

My questions are: Should I have more than one main character? And is the Necro the right choice? I mean I read many threads in the past few days and Im not really sure about it. To be honest I do not really understand everything of the class and even have to get the 250 hero points for the elite skill…
And if necro is a good choice, what build can I go for until I reach my completed elite skill because atm Im just pressing keys..?

Posted by: cyn.2157

cyn.2157

It really depends on what you want. I have 9 characters, one of each class – because if I find one has a really useful purpose/role, I want to have that available to me. I play 95% of my time on just my main, because I prefer that class (thief) – and the majority of the games content is accessible to any class. Honestly, for PvE – unless you’re raiding – any class in the game can be plenty effective. Even within a raid group, there is flexibility – but you can’t just grab 10 people and toss ’em into a raid and expect to clear it.

I mainly pull out my mesmer for puzzles (portal!) though I actually quite enjoy playing her, I just haven’t taken the time to really immerse myself in the playstyle. My second main play is my guardian, simply because it was a nice change of pace from my main (thief), and it’s useful for certain guild events (like southsun crab toss).