[Suggestion] Fishing!

[Suggestion] Fishing!

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Gimli.9461

Gimli.9461

It’s me again, and yes it’s about fishing again. I can’t stop thinking about it.

I have a phased fishing implementation suggestion! Played some minecraft and thought – how hard could it be to implement fishing like this? Shouldn’t be too too hard right? I mean, basketbrawl.

So here are my thoughts on what a starter Phase 1 very basic implementation could be!

1. Mechanics: just like in minecraft. You equip a rod, you cast, it bobs up and down every 5-7 seconds, you have to right click – boom fish.
- won’t get too boring as you get something very often
- as far as bots go – I’m not an expert, but lets make rewards such that even if we cannot detect all botting, it doesn’t really matter; You fish by standing on a non-water space, and casting the rod into a water space (so basically anywhere there’s water and a shoreline/little island);

2. Rewards:
2.1 JUNK . junk junk and more junk
- The idea is you can fish out any odd item, and sell it as junk to the vendor. It’s soulbound (for now that’s all you can get)

2.2 Account bound Fishes:
- not used in any new recipes
- go toward some simple collection counter
- once you get a huge number of these you get a title Fish Lover or something

3. Fishing rods:
- Toy on gemstore for 1000 that per cast eats a Bloodstone Dust :P (or similar overflowing item) . Items caught with this rod don’t count toward achievement, just junk to sell to the vendor
- Craftable fishing rods, throughout each of 6 crafting tiers; things you catch with these count toward collections/achievements (so achievement is phrased: catch 5000 pufferfish with a starter fishing rod):
– First phase just gives the starter fishing rod, Novice Huntsman, and on each of the 5 starter maps you can purchase a recipe from a fishing vendor!
– The heart fishing vendor also offers bait you have to use! Worms