Supportive/Healing Roles During Events...

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Monk.6752

Monk.6752

First, I’d like to apologize if there is a similar thread on this topic elsewhere. I was unable to find anything, so…here is mine. I recently started playing engineer, and since I love playing a healing type role in other games, I’m taking skills and traits that help me be supportive. During a recent bout with the fire elemental in the group event in Metrica Province, I was not focused on attacking. I simply ran around like mad, dropping med kits, tossing elixirs, and getting people back on their feet. When the event ended, everyone cheered, ‘good job’ to all involved, medals, karma, silver, and a loot chest hooray! Except for me…apparently, if you don’t attack a boss, and just heal people, revive them, and toss various elixirs, you’re not counted as having been a part of the event. No medal, not even a thumbs up. I’ve tried it in various other events…simply healing and tossing elixirs and reviving downed players, and it’s always the same. No medal or reward unless I spend more time attacking. I am just curious, if that is an intentional thing, to keep people who aren’t really contributing to an event, from getting something, or an oversight? (Although you can run through an area during an event and get a bronze at least; it’s happened to me many times.) Has anyone else had this experience; filling a supportive/healing type role and not getting included in the rewards when the event finishes? Now that I have my elixir gun it’s less of a problem, but I could see myself using the medic kit again…except of course if it’s an event, I won’t be counted as having taken part if I just try to heal players instead of deal damage. However, I do intend to stay in my supportive role, I enjoy it immensely, and since I found a big hat with a feather in it, my Asura looks fabulous doing it. Thanks for the awesome hats Arena Net.

Posted by: digiowl.9620

digiowl.9620