The 'Selfish' Player

The 'Selfish' Player

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Cempa.3645

Cempa.3645

It’s about that time in GW2 when people start to understand the build system and now we are seeing the description ‘selfish’ player creep into the meta game.

What that means is very little support in the build and focuses on self. A Guardian who spec for DPS is one example. As a Guardian you can spec into GS and trait for support OR you can trait into pure DPS. The same applies for every other profession.

What are your views, can a GW2 player be ‘selfish’ and should players always consider support?

The 'Selfish' Player

Posted by: GuzziHero.2467

GuzziHero.2467

I always spec for Vitality, Power, Healing, Crits, Toughness in that order.

Partly because I am a noob and I don’t play the numbers game insomuch as speccing for condition stacking or other speciality traits, but mostly because I solo all the time and I need to have a high survivability with that in mind.

I consider that destroying the enemy is paramount, then I can work on healing others otherwise you have 2 bodies instead of one. Real world army theory is that it is better to injure than kill an opponent since it takes more resources to take care of an injured enemy than a dead one.

So if you consider that the only means of ‘support’ you can give to others is healing (since in my mind that is the only support one can give) then yes. Solo players HAVE to be selfish since we are almost always without our own support. If you widen the meaning to be ‘getting enemies away from an injured/dead player so you can heal him’, then there is nothing really selfish about that.

You need the objective done, other players are worth many times a fallen NPC, so it only makes sense to heal them first.

The 'Selfish' Player

Posted by: Bluestone.7106

Bluestone.7106