The etiquette of standing inside people

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Zoltar MacRoth.7146

Zoltar MacRoth.7146

Being new to the mmo world, I’m still learning the ropes when it comes to gaming etiquette. And this is area that’s intrigued me for a while. This post is made half in jest, half serious curiosity.

There are some situations (like stacking) where it is entirely warranted to be inside each other’s airspace. Then there are times when you’re waiting on a boss and there’s plenty of space around you but some big toon decides to park himself over you.

What’s the feeling on this? Is it poor etiquette to overlap, or is it a compliment? Maybe they’re just saying, “hey, you picked an awesome spot. Let’s share.” Am I being rude if I enter another player’kittenbox without asking? And does anyone else go around other players when running somewhere, rather than through them?

Posted by: RoseofGilead.8907

RoseofGilead.8907

I can’t say I’ve ever been bothered by or cared about where someone else is standing, excluding places like jumping puzzles where another player can block your field of view.

Posted by: Just a flesh wound.3589

Just a flesh wound.3589

I don’t think there’s any sort of hard and fast rule or any real etiquette. It’s more what’s comfortable for you. For me, crowded, I don’t care. Running through someone, I don’t care. Standing alone in an open area, not harvesting or anything and someone getting inside you, that’s probably trying to bug you. Not rude, but they are probably trying to get a reaction.

Be careful what you ask for
ANet may give it to you.

Posted by: Endless Soul.5178

Endless Soul.5178

As an Asuran, I think it’s totally fun to hide under Charr or Norn characters.

Asura characters: Zerina | Myndee | Rissa | Jaxxi | Feyyt | Bekka | Sixx | Akee | Tylee | Nuumy
| Claara
Your skin will wrinkle and your youth will fade, but your soul is endless.

Posted by: Greyhound.2058

Greyhound.2058