The reason I keep logging in. :)

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: slamfunction.7462

slamfunction.7462

I complain alot, so tonight, i figured i’d try a new approach.

I’ve been a GW2 junkie for a year now. I had a month or two spurt prior, but was still too addicted to other MMOs to commit at the time, so a year ago, this time, i finally came back in and started playing and i haven’t left.

I’m a mechanic and IT guy by trade. I was a mechanic, got sick of it and moved on to IT years and years ago. I like building and repairing things. Its just what i’ve always done.

Recently, i had conversation with a work buddy over his hobbies and he is no gamer, but he does build and ride motorcycles and one aspect of his hobby hit home with me during the conversation. He stated that he liked the building and repairing portion of the hobby more than riding. When i started to roll that around in my mind, i realized, THIS is why i log in everynight.

I do everything in game. WvW, Dungeons, mapping, sPvP. You name it, i do it at least once a week, because i have many characters and a great guild to game with. But all that stuff is either flawed or lacking in some apsects and although i’m not going to count them off – Mainly because i can’t and i think others have done a far better job at describing those issues – I LOVE building characters. Its my thing. Its the one, truly in-depth “thing” this game does and succeeds in spades at. Granted, everyone has access to the same stuff, but i’ve yet to see anyone in game that looked EXACTLY like one of my toons. And it goes beyond just physical appearance, and into the complex stats system. Thats where the repair comes in, after i’ve built a toon.

Furthermore, the gem store seems to cater to this hobby, so i spend a fair amount there as well. The open world is more or less, a beautifully crafted environment for my creations to live and breathe – a canvas to show off my building skills.