Theory about Combat Roles

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: APunch.7581

APunch.7581

I have a theory about combat roles in Guild Wars 2. Although this theory is based on subjective observation I would like to post it for peer review and see what this community has to say. Before I begin I would also like to thank my Guild mates for their input when I first broached this topic.

During the promotion of GW2 one of Area Net’s primary talking points was the removal of the “Holy Trinity” of combat roles indicative of MMO games. (On a side note, I find the overuse of the term “Holy Trinity” to be extremely annoying. Unfortunately it is currently the most succinct way to refer to the Healer/Tank/DPS paradigm.)

In at least one interview developers did name a different trinity that they wished to use in their game:
Damage/Control/Support.

If we examine the skills provided by different weapons given to each class there seems to be a large number of possible combat roles inherent in each character class. I made the following list by puzzling over the functionality of the weapon and utility skills, as well as traits, I have observed in the different classes.

Guild Wars 2 Combat Roles
-Physical DPS
-Condition Damage
-Condition De-buffs
-Ally Offensive Boons
-Ally Defensive Boons
-Enemy Control (damage mitigation through blocking, interrupts, blinds and evasion)
-Field Medic
-Balance (solo survival) [can be called selfish in a group]
-Multi-role (actively trying to combine two or more roles) [Although, some internal synergy between roles is natural]

When I created characters for World of Warcraft, TERA and Neverwinter I decided I wanted to play a tank. That determined what race and class to take: Paladin for WoW, Lancer for TERA and Shield Warrior for Neverwiner. I don’t think that is how GW2 is designed. ANet focuses more on the RP of an MMORPG. Your combat role comes second to your character’s personality.

Creating YOUR Character:
Hero Archetype==>
Combat Role===>