Things you found confusing as a noob

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Paul.4081

Paul.4081

Crafting
Combo Fields
Original Skill/Trait Descriptions – If I remember they were vague at best like “Gives a wee bit more damage” or “Gives you this much <———> more toughness”. Uh, ok.

Posted by: Melanie.1240

Melanie.1240

- Utilities under water. I was probably 3 characters in before I realised that was a thing.
- A second weapon under water. I was like 6 characters in before I realised that was a thing. In my defense, my first character to 80 was an Ele.
- Combo fields and finishers. Only after thoroughly wiki-ing I found it how they worked.
- Aquabreathers have rune slots.
- The option that shows a colored line around each armor piece depicting the rarity. I only found that out a few months ago and I have been playing since 2012. :P

Posted by: Mouse.3608

Mouse.3608

Things that struck me as difficult?

Vault/Bag space. I haven’t completely broken down and ripped out the credit card just yet, but having very limited space and no idea what items are important and what I should get rid of makes me nervous. What if the item I’m deleting is irreplaceable, rare, or uniquely useful, and I just don’t know?

Major Traits. I have limited funds, and limited skill points. Obviously, not every trait is equal, and groups have expectations that a particular class will trait a certain way. There doesn’t seem to be any logical progression, either by leveling or via the personal story. I can’t afford to experiment and learn, and there is no way of refunding skill points if I change my mind – so I’m basically stuck with Google to figure out what meta is or grinding skill points.

I needed someone to explain to me what Stacking in a dungeon meant and why it is done. Because when I saw it the first time it looked a lot like standing in one place so the boss can AOE us with less effort.