What are the "threat" mechanics?

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Hellsing.3570

Hellsing.3570

I know this subject has been beaten around the bush so many times over the years, however, I recently started playing after 6-7 months and I am constantly being focused down on all of my characters in PvE.

As soon as I’m in range, the boss(es)/mobs turn and face me and only hit me and aim all of their hard hitting abilities at me. If I outrange them they move onto someone else. If I stealth, they move onto someone else (sometimes even continue to beat me down while stealthed). If I die, they move onto someone else.

As I mentioned this is across all of my characters – my Thief, my Elementalist, my Warrior, my Mesmer and my Guardian.

It’s rather annoying not being able to do any significant damage because everything drops whatever they’re doing and focus me down until I’m dead, gone or stealthed.

Is there something I’m missing that prevents this kind of behaviour from mobs/bosses? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Be pro!»

Posted by: CMF.5461

CMF.5461

Posted by: simplesimon.2084

simplesimon.2084

Unfortunately that link doesn’t really answer his question.
What gear are you wearing? Some mobs like players with higher toughness.

CMF.5461

I edited my link, I had the wrong article originally but that page details the extent of agro mechanics that the community needs to understand.

Hellsing.3570

My Guardian wears Toughness gear, which is fine really, as that lets me take hits when endurance/blind is out of the loop. My other characters all wear Berserker gear as they’re all high damage dealers.

I thought aggro was random with the occasional boss liking toughness players over others :o

When I used to play this never was an issue. Now I have to micromanage my cooldowns perfectly in order to avoid going splat, and even then RNG creeps in and wallops me :/