What made this game great

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Topher.5631

Topher.5631

Hey guys! I was thinking about what this game did right and how it lost flare over time. Just a bit of background, I have almost 4k hours in this game and I’ve been playing since mid 2014. I have experience in most areas of the game, specializing in pvp.

PvE:

I don’t play this one much other than when I needed a legendary from HoT, but back when I started the game it was really fun unlocking weapon skills by using the weapon in the world. Like…. I remember it wasn’t locked behind level progression, I would just use it enough and the skill would unlock itself.

Moreover, I don’t think they made an improvement with the way you acquired new utilities, it really took away a lot of the wow factor for newer players having to go all the way to level 11 ( I think) to unlock a new utility skill.

^^^^Those two changes killed the enjoyment for me when I had just picked up the game.

I also wish Anet had done more with the core dungeons. There was no reason to play them after you had all the titles (besides gold, at which point it was a grind), they were just there. The gold you got from it was minuscule when compared to things like AB or DS after HoT came out. After that they were abandoned except for newer players wanting to experience some of the harder content.

WvW:

I loved this one, I really did. Before HoT came out when there were automatic upgrades I would spend whole nights soloing the bottom half of a BL with my minionmancer and upgrading everything to full ( and going broke in the process). It felt really rewarding to see a tower with 700 supply and think, I did that, all by myself. Now I know that wvw isnt a solo mode but that was one of the things I loved about it, doing something meant for a whole server with just one person.