Why 3 harvests? (QoL?)

Why 3 harvests? (QoL?)

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Neural.1824

Neural.1824

I’ve been curious about this since not too long after I started playing GW2. Why is it that our characters only take three swings at a given mining or logging node (or just one at harvesting node)?

Is it a software/code thing that prevents the system from determining how many harvests you’ll get up front and then just allowing the players to hit ‘f’ once and be done?

It’s not that it’s a huge game breaking thing to have to hit ‘f’ a few times in a row (for instance if you are harvesting guild hall nodes), but I’ve always been curious as to why it works this way.

Anyone have any insight or reference to ancient dev writings?

Where are my gem sales? I want gem sales! Nerf EVERYTHING!

Why 3 harvests? (QoL?)

Posted by: Kabansky.9160

Kabansky.9160

Hardly a valid excuse but most special animations are designed for exactly 3 swings and would look weird otherwise (not that they don’t already).

Why 3 harvests? (QoL?)

Posted by: Just a flesh wound.3589

Just a flesh wound.3589

Probably for immersion reasons. Small plants, vegetables can be cut with one motion. Mining ore or cutting down trees takes multiple strikes in real life and 3 per harvest in game.

Be careful what you ask for
ANet may give it to you.

Why 3 harvests? (QoL?)

Posted by: Crowley.8761

Crowley.8761

Because clicking the same node 3 times is kinda silly and a waste of time (cept for rich which makes sense).

There’s a reason wow stopped that.

Why 3 harvests? (QoL?)

Posted by: Boysenberry.1869

Boysenberry.1869

Given how much stuff I have in my Home Instance now, it certainly would be nice if I was able to just press F once per node. Farming my Home Instance now takes longer than doing dailies.

Why 3 harvests? (QoL?)

Posted by: Illconceived Was Na.9781

Illconceived Was Na.9781

I think you’ve confused two different mechanics.