Why I haven't touched the gem shop yet

in Guild Wars 2 Discussion

Posted by: Dahkeus.8243

Dahkeus.8243

I was having a conversation with some friends the other night and came to find that my situation is actually pretty similar to theirs, so I figured I’d share.

To give you some background, I’m a veteran MMO player and have been playing games in this genre for probably close to 7 years now. Since I started playing, my situation has changed from a college bachelor to a now full time employee who is getting married within the month. Because of this, I have a lot less time to play than I used to. This is why I was so thrilled to find that GW2 has taken the approach that it has.

So, with my limited time, I’m still working on getting gear for my first character (Not focusing on any ascended items, just exotics with Berserker stats). Because of this, I have hardly touched any alts and have not yet purchased the extra character slot or bank slots (my extra characters are my bank slots right now).

You may ask why I haven’t just purchased gems, converted them to gold, and bought my gear? To that I would answer that just because I have more money than spare time now doesn’t mean I’m ready to spend it on something like gear that will get replaced as soon as the next tier comes out. Also, it just doesn’t feel right to use real world cash to get items for my character that give better stats. (I’ve had this mentality ingrained for the last 7 years, so it’s not easily changed now).

So, really, to sum up, I just wanted to give ArenaNet the heads up that while it does sound counter intuitive, the extra grind that we have to put in does actually discourage some players from opening their wallets.

Posted by: Quaz.4931

Quaz.4931