I'm feeling overwhelmed by the new content

in Guild Wars 2: Heart of Thorns

Posted by: Belmont.4682

Belmont.4682

First of all, sorry for any possible bad english.

I’m a veteran player that came back to the game a few days ago to check out the new expansion features and maps, and once i stepped into verdant brinks, my head almost exploded.

Lots of icons that give me no idea about what they are identifying on the map, monsters on every inch of the map, making skipping almost impossible. This new mastery system that i dont have any idea on how it works…etc etc

Is there any HoT survival guide that i can use? Right now i’ m just zoning into the new area only to behavior like a headless chicken….

Posted by: Kichwas.7152

Kichwas.7152

So to start everything you need to open up your hero panel (H), pick the expansion’s story, and click to start it. Until you do that you can’t even zone into the HoT zones (unless you sneak in the back way from a guild hall, which lands you way away from the content you need to reach to get going…)

Open up the mastery system and pick an item to “start training” – always make sure you are training one of them, as any ‘XP’ you earn when not training just gets flushed down the drain.

You will need to train gliding first, and then mushroom jumping. After that, I’m not too sure – but it looks like we’re a little locked in before we can start making choices.

You will see an Icon that looks like a grey version of the mastery icon – and yes, that is a challenge that if done will reward a mastery point flat out.

You will come across flag poles – this can start a mini-game that if you get silver gives 1 mastery, and gold gives 2, and can be repeated as many times as you want (but the master points only get earned once).

Otherwise, follow the story and when it tells you to go somewhere, find that somewhere and go there.